Thread: First timer looking for basic Capture Advice

1. Default First timer looking for basic Capture Advice

Hi all and a Happy New Year.

Some Background

I was asked by a family friend to help get them into the modern age and set up their computer to allow them to capture home movies to PC so they can make proper DVDs from them.

They have an oldish looking

• Sony Digital HandyCam (Digital 700x with USB Streaming
    • They have a decent AMD2 Processor based PC with 512MB of Ram but only a small drive, about 50 GB free of space.
    • Im using a USB-Firewire Cable to connect the CamC to my PC.

The utility that comes with the CamC is pretty basic and when test driving a capture from tape, of the 58 mins film only 15% could be captured in one go before the diskpace was filled.

Thats one problem, the other is getting it to fit onto a DVD-R when its all done.

Though I have some decent computer experience and know how to use a CamC, I must admit that when it comes to editing and capturing, my knowledge is nothing but pathetic.

However, If possible Id like to know the answers to the following questions:

1. What would be the best FREEWARE or TRIAL software (prefer Freeware) to grab the video from the tape onto the hardrive?

2. Would prefer to capture in one go, but acceptable to do it even in 15 min chunks?

3. Would prefer to have the file on PC in a format that ANY DVD (Pal) player would be able to play?

4. Nice to have the ability of being able to merge two or more smaller files onto the DVD and have a basic menu for selection added?

Christ, Im asking alot, but I would really appreciate any help from the many knowledge persons on this board.

Bracknell, Berkshire, UK

Dunno what model your camcorder is but the general consensus is that if you are capturing via USB you are already doing it wrong!