Thread: Roller Coaster Documentary.

Default Roller Coaster Documentary.

Hi all, this is my first attempt at making a documentary which is an insight into the history of a roller coaster manufacturer called Vekoma. I made the documentary for the website and forum that I am a member of and it is the first in a series of 'The History Of....'
    I'm quite happy with it but I hope to surpass it in 2007 with the second instalment, the one gripe I have with this one is about half way through we filmed using cue-cards as I had no time to remember the script.
    Anyway, please have a look, even if it doesn't interest you. Any hints and tips for future releases would be appreciated.

Here is the link:

Blog Entries

Nice to see "traditional" documentaries are still being made.

I do have a couple of comments though... don't take it personally, it's just my opinions!

I found the "Rabbit in the headlights" presenter a bit boring. Instead of standing/sitting looking into the lens, try walking & talking, or chosing locations where you can see what you're talking about (golden rule: Show it, don't talk about it) and chill out a bit. The commentary was a bit dry and (how can I put this) boring at times.

Take a bit more care with the sound. The presenter was certainly understandable but there was a fair bit of thrumble and wind-noise on some takes, and the stuff recorded inside sounded a bit "hollow".

The copyright-free music was a bit naff too!

This sounds like I hated it. Not at all, I love seeing this sort of stuff, it's what camcorders were made for! I hope you do more stuff.

Thanks for your comments. I haven't taken any personally at all and the main reason I have shared it here is so I can get feedback and tips on how to improve. I admit myself that it is far from great and the follow up documentaries should improve significantly. The presenting was done by myself and I was trying so hard to re-iterate the script that obviously my stature and look was inaminate.