Thread: analysing a golf swing

Smile analysing a golf swing

Apologies if this has been covered before but I have looked and cannot find it. I am completely new to digital camcorders and wish to buy a reasonable cost one to record generally and, in particular, golf swings. I want to be able to look at the golf swing in slow motion (frame by frame) on my computer or tv and need it to be clear! My local golf professional uses one for his lessons and says he never has to spend more than a couple of hundred pounds! (sony DCRTRV19E). My pal has a sony DCR HC22E but not sure which one to buy? Help will be much appreciated!

Andy

Blog Entries

If all you want to do is play back a golf swing, then to be honest you're not really going to appreciate the difference that the big bucks cameras have to offer.

You sound like you want something simple too. If you were into all things video editing, you may have wanted to invested in a high speed video camera. This will record at rediculously high frame rates so that you can easily slow things down and see everything in glorious detail. This is a) expensive and b) technical. So that's equally a no go.

So what's left is a cheap camera. Your best bet is to get a reliable Mini DV camera. WarehouseExpress.com are selling the Canon MVX200 for 299.99. You'll also need a tripod.

To play back in slow motion on a PC, you'll need some sort of video editing application. I would suggest you buy Adobe Premiere Elements. Camcorders don't tend to have ainbuilt slow motion playback.