Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Canon ZR-500 & Firewire

  1. #1

    Default Canon ZR-500 & Firewire

    I just got a Canon ZR-500 DV for Christmas. I tried putting some of the video onto my PC and I'm having problems. I bought the firewire cable and my pc already had the port for it. However, when I turn my camcorder on the pc doesn't always recognize it. It'll only find it in one of about every 8 times. I got it to work a few times and was able to get some video clips onto my pc. I'm just wondering why it's not being recognized everytime I turn the camcorder to Play. Would it be a problem with my pc as it sometimes has problems recognizing my usb cable for me to download my digital camera as well? Any ideas on how to fix this? Oh ya, and I have Windows XP on my pc.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Bristol uk
    Blog Entries


    If your pc is not well looked after things like this can happen. Hard to be more helpfull with the information available.

    Might be an idea to check the f wire card (if not on motherboard) is not wobbly in the slot and securely plugged in.

Similar Threads

  1. Canon XL2
    By Shane_Gibson in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2006, 03:29 PM
  2. Canon m20i Firewire Capture Problem
    By Derek46 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-10-2006, 10:55 AM
  3. Help!! Canon XL1 Firewire issue
    By Nalehp in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 10:31 PM
    By Ferryman in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-19-2005, 11:15 AM
  5. Canon MV550i - Firewire
    By Daisy in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2005, 05:11 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts