Thread: New here. Advice please

Default New here. Advice please

Hi all,

I'm new here, so be gentle with me!

I've been using MSP for about 10 years, but the 7 version really p***ed me off with way too many crashes. Although I will say there were an awful lot of nice touches there from 6.5. Anyways, when considering an upgrade to 8 I saw Vegas 6d going for a song, so I bought that and Tim Duncan's Vegas training DVD.
    A couple of things that concern me:
    Lots of moans here about the length of time Vegas takes to render. This WOULD be a big problem for me, as I make wedding videos. Too much pressure of work during the 'season' to wait for a horse & cart.
    Also, multicam editing. I regularly use 3 cams at a ceremony. With MSP I put the 2 & 3 cams as PIPs then just play through marking (with cues & cutting with the scissors) where I want to use which cam.
    I know there are a few plugins for Vegas multicam, but will the same method I use in MSP work in Vegas?

Having downloaded a trial of MSP8, I can see there are big changes, especially to single track editing. Also, it looks like they've finished the titler at last! Always seemed to me to be a 'work in progress' in 7. But.....is 8 reliable? I would probably feel more comfortable with MSP8 rather than Vegas, as in spite of the new interface, many things seem to work much the same.

I'd appreciate any opinions, especially from those here who use both.

Blog Entries