Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Capture card for Premiere 6.5

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glossop United Kingdom
    Posts
    2

    Default Capture card for Premiere 6.5

    I have previously worked with Ulead Video Studio 7 using a Lynx USB capture device. Prem 6.5 will not recognise this device. Do I have to purchase one of the Adobe recommended capture cards which are a bit pricey or can somebody suggest a cheaper (but reliable) alternative?
    I have a P4 2.4 ghz system with 768 MB of DDR memory
    bluemoon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Forget USB for capture. Assuming you simply want to capture from a MiniDv camcorder (pretty much the norm around here) all you need is a firewire port. If you haven't got one then you can buy a firewire PCI card for under 20UKP if you hunt around. Oh, and a firewire cable to connect the camera up

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glossop United Kingdom
    Posts
    2

    Default Capture Card for Premiere 6.5

    Thanks for the advice about USB. What about analogue capture? I have some VHS stuff that I need to work on.
    Can you recommend a reliable card?
    bluemoon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    I do not think Premiere will perform analogue capture.

    You will need an Analogue-to-Digital convertor. Capture through this (using the s/w that comes with it) from your VCR and you will get a very large AVI file which you can import into Premiere and away you go....

    Lots and lots of A2D boxes on the market (almost as many as there are post in these forums discussing them) and everyone here will have thier own preference. The one I just happened to buy is a Dazzle Fusion which (last time i looked) you can pick up from amazon for just under 50. For me it worked fine first time (and every time so far) and I've been happy with it although some have had teething troubles with it. It also acts a multi card reader.

    And, in typical fashion after my last post, it will need a USB2 port.

    In short, for analogue capture you will typically use a USB2 port and for digital capture always use firewire. Sorry about the confusion on the last post. If you currently have neither USB2 or firewire then I can recommend a nice dual port card that I picked up for under 20. Has three USB2 ports and two firewire ports on it.

Similar Threads

  1. premiere wont work with my new capture card
    By ben704 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-18-2006, 09:29 PM
  2. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 07:37 PM
  3. video capture card or AGP vid card
    By Dazedandconfused in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-21-2005, 11:27 AM
  4. Need capture card compatible with Adobe Premiere
    By DJfan in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-11-2004, 08:38 AM
  5. How do i capture my pc-screen using a video-capture-card?
    By hagbard in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-04-2003, 11:12 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •