Thread: How do YOU cost your fees?

Default How do YOU cost your fees?

I'm just starting out and have seen a couple of threads on weddings, etc. But how do you calculate the costs of your fees to clients?

I'll assume we've all spent time learning the software, plus use and purchase of camera, etc.

If there's some kind of rules-of-thumb or guidelines, it would be very useful for me. I'm happy to detail my own circumstances, but don't want to sidetrack the thread.

Blog Entries

Okay, there are a whole range of prices depending on a vast array of variables.

The bottom line is that you, and your staff have to earn a decent wage as well as covering all your costs and expenses. You should never end up working for nothing but...

When starting out, you'll need to gain experience. The tempatation is to have lower prices because:
    (a) you think lower prices will attract customers
    (b) you think that lower prices mean lower expectations.

WRONG on both counts.

(a) Price actually plays a small part in attracting customers. Recommendations, reputation and the quality offered are far, far more important. The average wedding cost between 5,000 and 20,000 so saving a couple of hundred on the video isn't a major consideration.

(b) The couple (and, more importantly the bride's parents, who are footing the bill) will expect top quality video, even if they're paying next to nothing. No matter how often you say "I'm starting out, so you're getting a good price" they will moan, bitch and loudly ruin your reputation if the video is anything less than perfect.

Now, you know it makes sense but you'll ignore the above truths, offer a low price and never get a successful business off the ground. Sorry but that's the way most start-ups fail.

There is an EXCELLENT article at:

But I digress... Want to know my answer...? A minimum of 2,500 if you do it my way.