Thread: Just wondering Easiest way to get this effect

Default Just wondering Easiest way to get this effect

Hey guys, first time poster, long time reader! Hi =)

Got a question for ya's.

You ever watch a movie, or say, a music video, and its in Black and white. And something happends, and one object is in color?

Basically ive been shooting a Horror movie for the last 7 months *yah, was supposed to take 1 month, but, you know how that goes"

Everything is going great, i shot it in black and white, since its very fitting, and also, it made lighting a whole heck of alot easier.

Now i got a scene where someone gets jacked up with a knife, and blood goes flying on the wall. The blood flying and splat on that wall picked up great on film, but id love it to be red. Everything else black and white, and the blood flying on the wall in a red.

Just for reference, I Shot in color, then converted in black and white. The actual liquid thrown was NOT red, it was a black mixture i made.

Any ideas guys on what software and what method to do?
    I suspect i will have to do it frame by frame, which isnt a problem, i got plenty of time, i just, dont know how to do it haha

Thanks guys and gals

Bracknell, Berkshire, UK

I think you will have to do it frame by frame. As I started reading your post I started thinking, "Oh no, if he had filmed in colour he could have simply applied a colour pass filter and kept the red" But then later you said that the blood wasn't red but black so I think you are down to dopign it frame by frame (rotoscoping it). But you might also be able to get away with keyframing a mask in something like After Effects and then adding the colour to that.

Default rotoscoping

Rotoscoping? never done that before?
    what kinda software do u recommend for doing that? also, any where i can get a good tutorial on doing so?

sorry, i know this is broad