Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: editing software

Default editing software

Hi to all.
    This is my first post.
    I am a complete novice videographer hopeing to make it my new career.
    I have a Canon XLIs that i am presently learning about.
    I have very small amount of money to spend on software for editing.I have the chance to buy adobe Premiere 6 for 100 pounds.Is this a good one to go for?If not recommendations would be greatly appreiciated.
    Also,there is no room inside my computer to fit firewire,are there other ways to download from my camera to the hard drive?
    Any information you deem relevent to an absolute beginner would be great.
    The other thing i would like to know, is it very hard to edit?
    I hope somebody out there can help me.
    Many thanks in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by Tel View Post
    Hi to all.
    This is my first post.
    I am a complete novice videographer hopeing to make it my new career.
    I have a Canon XLIs that i am presently learning about.
    I have very small amount of money to spend on software for editing.I have the chance to buy adobe Premiere 6 for 100 pounds.Is this a good one to go for?If not recommendations would be greatly appreiciated.
    Personally, with that budget, if you are looking at going Adobe then spend your 100 pounds on the Premiere elements/Photoshop Elements bundle. When you start making some money then think about Premiere Pro.
    Also,there is no room inside my computer to fit firewire,are there other ways to download from my camera to the hard drive?
    Then you are completely scuppered my friend :( The XL1 is a Mini DV camera and records to tape if I'm not mistaken. It's a good camera. They used Canon XL1s to film "28 Days Later". But you absolutely WILL NEED FIREWIRE to capture your footage. You are quite simply wasting your time doing it any other way.
    Any information you deem relevent to an absolute beginner would be great.