Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: DV Type 1 or 2

  1. Lightbulb DV Type 1 or 2

    Is it true that the most common used is type2? because is interlaced or am I wrong?
    and type1 can be either interlaced or progressive but it uses directshow instead? I'm all confuse... and which is by default better to go with? by the way how do I know which dv type my canopus advc110 uses? or does it depend on the software and if it does then why studio9 doesn't give me the option to go for either one?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Unfortunately you're being confused by my pet hate of the video editing world - the technical jargon. It's a shame, but there's sometimes far too much technical information spouted on forums... which REALLY isn't needed to edit video.

    Trying to put this into non-technical terms:

    When we have information stored in video files, we refer to these as "streams". At the most basic level, we have 1 video and 1 audio stream. In DV Type 1 files the audio and video are 'interleaved', that is they are combined into one. This one stream is called an "ivas" stream (interleaved video/audio stream).

    DV Type 2 files on the other hand can be split into seperate video and up to 4 audio channels. These types can be used in virtually all applications (e.g virtualdub).

    You shouldn't ever have to worry about this. The software will do this for you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Whilst Marc was writing his post I was Googling - these links may help explain the differences further:

    http://www.videohelp.com/glossary?D#DV

    http://www.petesvideo.com/vidDVformats.htm

  4. Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters View Post
    You shouldn't ever have to worry about this. The software will do this for you.
    Ahhh yes I plan using virtualdub for simple editing... but what if the software choose to go dv1... does it depend on the source? why would I need dv1? does it automatically go dv2 most of the time?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Have you tried opening up your exported file in VirtualDub?

  6. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters View Post
    Have you tried opening up your exported file in VirtualDub?
    Yes all avis I done from studio9 open in virtualdub. On ulead studio it gives me the option to go for dv1 or 2 and I had no idea what to choose...

    what makes studio9 go for 1 or the other? and why do i need dv1 for? does it make smaller avis but less cuztomizable?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    For the files to be used in VirtualDub, choose type 2. That's pretty much all you need to know.

Similar Threads

  1. Is it possible to get film type depth from a camcorder?
    By Chris Oakley in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-21-2006, 08:02 AM
  2. file type problem
    By oYo in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-09-2005, 12:06 PM
  3. Animated Type Programs for PC
    By alexD in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-08-2005, 09:27 PM
  4. converting avi type 1 to avi type 2 with Canopus-> error
    By bucket in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-07-2004, 01:28 AM
  5. Using Chroma type effect
    By SlartyUK in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-06-2004, 09:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •