Thread: Video Transfer / Instruction Canon MV5i

Default Video Transfer / Instruction Canon MV5i

Okay folks, Im new to this forum so be gentle on me !

Two issues that Im hoping you can help me out on - and please keep in mind that I am a bit of a novice looking to learn a bit more about doing more with any video i take, but it's not a big hobby of mine.

Basically I want to be able to do the following without any significant aggro or expense;
    a) transfer video from my Canon MV5i MC to my PC
    b) do some basic editing etc to make short sensible films for the family and of my other main hobby (flying large model aircraft !)
    c) be able to convert these films into useful file types for use in DVD machines, and to load on to other PCs / trf to the likes of You Tube etc.

I just upgraded my PC so I have a suped up machine for the job, necessary DVD writers etc, and a stack of DVD-R discs !
    Software - only the Movie Maker stuff that comes with XP pro, but open to suggestion of buying a suitable package for doing a better / easier job of above.

Okay, so my main queries are;

1) Anyone tell me where I can get the instruction manual for the Canon MV5i MC? this is an oldish camera (4 years?) but was hi spec at the time and I have followed some of the links on this forum to try to get it but no joy in actually getting the instruction manual on this model.

2) Anyone got any experience on getting video from the DV tapes to PC. Im guessing there should be a way of transfering from the tape through the camera to the PC but what do I need ? Thought has also occurred to me that maybe I should get a little tape player for the job so I dont have to use the camera all the time but I have not got a clue where to start.

By way of thanks in anticipation of your help, here's an idea of what I aim to accomplish;
    (hope it works !)

Western Europe