Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Total noob question, I beg of thee

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN USA
    Posts
    3

    Default Total noob question, I beg of thee

    Hi, I'm an old-school analog editor trying to make the jump to digital. Haven't been editing for about 5 years. I just bought Vegas 6.0 and want to ask before I drive myself crazy. I already looked in the FAQ and forums... please forgive if I missed the answer.

    Uploading from my Sony Digital Handicam.
    Images are on Hi 8 tape.
    When viewing the video before actual capture the image in Vegas looks very pixelized and awful.

    Is this just the nature of the program or have I got something set wrong? The image on the camera is very crisp.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Is it a Hi8 camera with firewire output and is that how you are capturing?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN USA
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Turn Media View Post
    Is it a Hi8 camera with firewire output and is that how you are capturing?
    Yes it is.

    Thanks for responding.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I would guess in that case that it's just the preview window set at it's lowest mode. Try resetting it to best and you'll most likely see an improvement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN USA
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Turn Media View Post
    I would guess in that case that it's just the preview window set at it's lowest mode. Try resetting it to best and you'll most likely see an improvement.
    Ahhh, I'll dig into the manual and see how to do that. I was hoping it was something simple that I just didn't understand. Most things usually are.

    Thanks for the info!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Above the preview, there's a button that has a drop menu ranging from best full size, best auto size down to the lowest setting.

Similar Threads

  1. A total beginner's question
    By Meursault in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-30-2007, 11:58 AM
  2. Another noob question .. about HD
    By alovell in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-10-2006, 12:38 PM
  3. Noob Question
    By BrakeRP in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-29-2006, 08:46 AM
  4. Yet another noob question
    By RedBreva in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-07-2005, 05:28 PM
  5. Premiere pro noob question
    By zak in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-31-2004, 12:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •