Thread: Capturing analogue video

Default Capturing analogue video

Please bear with me on this as I am a novice at this game.I have a number of old vhs tapes and a number of tapes from an analogue camcorder I want to put onto dvd.

I have started using premier elements 3 for capturing and editing digital video. When I try to capture the analogue video I have problems. I have tried using a borrowed Cameramate analogue to digital converter
    but elements doesnt detect it and I get the message that the source is offline.I have also tried capturing via an old Pinnacle dc10 plus card with what I think are the latest updated windows drivers again elements doesnt detect this.

I read somwhere on this site that the pinnacle capture card would only work with pinnacle software in windows xp. Can soneone confirm this and has anyone had experience of using the Camera mate?

Unfortunately I can see the outcome of this being I need a new capture device/analogue to digital converter. In that case what would people recommend?

Thanks for any help and advice.

Western Europe