Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: No sound through capture card

  1. #1

    Default No sound through capture card

    All. I would greatly appreciate any advice you could give on the following problem

    I have a Panasonic NV-DS29 camcorder, recently purchased but not new. Having taken some video I am now trying to export it to my PC.

    I have a Leadtek WinFast XP2000 TV capture card.

    I have tried using an S-Video lead between camera and card and can only capture video but not audio.

    Have checked the Windows sound setting s and nothing is muted.

    Firstly are there any other setting s that I need to check? On the camera? On the PC?

    Secondly the TV card is set as MPEG 2 codec, with sound in and out set as AUX. Do these need to be changed and if so to what as there seems to be many and various codecs with numerous settings for each.

    Thirdly would it be better to use an AV jack plug lead out of the camera to the AV in socket on the card and use a lead to the MIC IN on the sound card?

    All answers appreciated.

    Regards

    Klingon2me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    S video does not carry sound. Sound needs to be plugged in seperately,

    BUT and a big but.... why are you capturing using s video? That is not the way to do it at all.

    Your camera will have a small plug cammed a firwire port, a small rectagular socket, might be labelled 'DV Out'. To capture you lug a fire wire cable from there to a firewire input on your pc, if it doesnt have one cards are only 10.

    Most editors will allow capture this way, and even let you control the camera from the PC.

    The captures will be much better as the inforamtion remains in digital form, no conversion loss.

  3. #3

    Default

    Mark

    Thanks for the advice... To answer your question I am doing it using s-video because I did not know any better being a first time user.

    Learning through experience is always the best way as has just been proved.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Stop using that capture card, it will never give you the quality that Firewire can. Your camera has a Firewire port, just check your computer (open every flap, door and hidden compartment) to make sure it has one. If it doesn't have one, you can buy a Firewire card to fit inside the computer to a spare PCI slot and that will do the job for you. You will also need a Firewire cable to connect the camera to the Firewire port. Total cost 30 to 35 sterling, but well worth it when you see the picture quality and all video editing software is set up to work with it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by klingon2me View Post
    Mark

    Thanks for the advice... To answer your question I am doing it using s-video because I did not know any better being a first time user.

    Learning through experience is always the best way as has just been proved.

    Thanks
    Indeed, sorry if I sounded a bit abrubt there...
    I really must not post just after i get home from work, I think i need to cool off first !

  6. #6

    Default

    Thanks to all. Will hotfoot it for said firewire card.

    Your help appreciated

  7. #7

    Default

    Firewire card installed and video now being edited.

    Thanks again to all.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Cool, glad to hear all is well.

Similar Threads

  1. Crap PC sound card mic input.
    By Mark W in forum Sound Recording and Audio Editing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-14-2007, 09:37 PM
  2. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 08:37 PM
  3. video capture card or AGP vid card
    By Dazedandconfused in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-21-2005, 12:27 PM
  4. System Sound, but no capture or playback sound
    By ladyjepp in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2004, 10:09 PM
  5. How do i capture my pc-screen using a video-capture-card?
    By hagbard in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-05-2003, 12:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •