Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Video Capturing Problem(s) with Vegas 6.0

  1. #1
    TDA-Digital Guest

    Default Video Capturing Problem(s) with Vegas 6.0

    I am just new to Vegas, coming from Ulead Video Studio 9 experience, which I still have installed and running on my desktop computer and suffer no video capture problems between my Panasonic DV and computer, via a firewire port, implementing Ulead Studio 9 or Windows Media Encoder software.

    My problem occurs when I attempt to “capture video” using Sony Vegas 6; the software echo’s back that It’s “not available”, this is with the “preferences” (video tab) unchecked. When I “check” the box and use the Sony supplied “vidcap60.exe” file, the results are worse, meaning “Nothing” happens.

    Open to any and all comments, suggestions and criticisms with a premature “Thanks”

    TA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Give this a go. On the top device menu make sure you have Microsoft DV Camera ticked, and not SMRT capture.

  3. #3
    TDA-Digital Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Turn Media View Post
    On the top device menu make sure you have Microsoft DV Camera ticked, and not SMRT capture.
    Andy,

    I’m some what confused when you refer to the “Top Device” Menu would you please clarify a bit for me.

    Many Thanks,
    TA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    From memory (I'm not at my editing machine) the capture device isn't in a tab, its on the drop menu across the top of the capture window.

  5. #5
    TDA-Digital Guest

    Default Sony Only Won the First Round

    Andy,

    I’ve located the drop-down you referred and I have three option of which to tic, but none of them are that of Microsoft DV camera. So I believe I may have an older version of Vegas 6.0 than you do, but I going to keep playing, cursing and working at it until I beat this minor mountain.

    Andy, sincerely I much appreciate your time, experience and knowledge.

    Regards,
    TA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Thanks for the praise. Nice when people appreciate answers.

    I'm not really a techy type, but if the Microsoft DV camera option isn't there, I think Vegas isn't detecting the camera at all. You said previously the vidcap6 caused more problems too. I suspect the problem lies somewhere in there.

Similar Threads

  1. capturing video problem
    By shmersh in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-02-2006, 12:12 PM
  2. Vegas Video 6.0d Freezes when Capturing HD video (Sony Hc-1)
    By Valrio in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-03-2006, 04:30 AM
  3. Choppy video when capturing with Sony Vegas 5.0
    By denodigital in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-27-2005, 06:23 AM
  4. problem capturing video
    By vzaveri in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-2004, 04:35 AM
  5. Video capturing problem
    By viqi11 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-02-2004, 11:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •