Thread: Newbie - Problems capturing video

Default Newbie - Problems capturing video

Hi

I'm new to all this so apologies if this is a basic question.

I've just loaded Vegas 6 and I'm trying to capture HDV video from an HDR-HC1E and can't make it work.

Firstly, when I run Vegas 6 I get a message before it loads saying 'The media library Default has a newer format that is not supported by this version of software', but not sure what that means?

Then when Vegas is up and running, I've gone into Options/Preferences/Video and unchecked the 'use external video capture' box, connected via iLink, switched the camcorder on and put it in Play/Edit, but when I try and capture video I get a 'Device Not Available' message in the window on Vegas.

Anyone got any ideas??

Are there settings that need changing either on the computer (it's a VAIO VGN-SZ1VP Laptop), or somewhere on the camcorder?

Try NOT unchecking the 'use external video capture'. works for me.
    ggmabaapbnebtrbatst

TDA-Digital Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Baino View Post
    Then when Vegas is up and running, I've gone into Options/Preferences/Video and unchecked the 'use external video capture' box, connected via iLink, switched the camcorder on and put it in Play/Edit, but when I try and capture video I get a 'Device Not Available' message in the window on Vegas.
    I have the exact same problem as outlined in the quote above and my question concerns the meaning of “Not Available”.

I am also just new to Vegas, coming from Ulead Video Studio 9, which I still have installed and running on my desktop computer and suffer no video capture problems between my Panasonic GS55 and my computer, via a firewire port, using Ulead Studio 9.