Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Newbie - Problems capturing video

  1. #1

    Default Newbie - Problems capturing video

    Hi

    I'm new to all this so apologies if this is a basic question.

    I've just loaded Vegas 6 and I'm trying to capture HDV video from an HDR-HC1E and can't make it work.

    Firstly, when I run Vegas 6 I get a message before it loads saying 'The media library Default has a newer format that is not supported by this version of software', but not sure what that means?

    Then when Vegas is up and running, I've gone into Options/Preferences/Video and unchecked the 'use external video capture' box, connected via iLink, switched the camcorder on and put it in Play/Edit, but when I try and capture video I get a 'Device Not Available' message in the window on Vegas.

    Anyone got any ideas??

    Are there settings that need changing either on the computer (it's a VAIO VGN-SZ1VP Laptop), or somewhere on the camcorder?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    407

    Default

    Try NOT unchecking the 'use external video capture'. works for me.
    ggmabaapbnebtrbatst

  3. #3
    TDA-Digital Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Baino View Post
    Then when Vegas is up and running, I've gone into Options/Preferences/Video and unchecked the 'use external video capture' box, connected via iLink, switched the camcorder on and put it in Play/Edit, but when I try and capture video I get a 'Device Not Available' message in the window on Vegas.
    I have the exact same problem as outlined in the quote above and my question concerns the meaning of “Not Available”.

    I am also just new to Vegas, coming from Ulead Video Studio 9, which I still have installed and running on my desktop computer and suffer no video capture problems between my Panasonic GS55 and my computer, via a firewire port, using Ulead Studio 9.

    So my concern is this; perhaps the reason I (we) are receiving the “Not Available” message in the Vegas video capture window is because my Ulead software is still installed and taking over the video capturing abilities of the Vegas software? Does this make sense or am I barking up the wrong tree?

    Open to any and all comments, suggestions and criticisms with a premature “Thanks”

    TA

Similar Threads

  1. problems capturing video from canon zr-200
    By dbkcanon in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-17-2007, 10:58 AM
  2. Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5 - Problems capturing video HELP HELP!
    By MoveMakerOZ in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 12:40 AM
  3. newbie capturing video using ulead v8.0
    By floody in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-01-2005, 10:10 AM
  4. Problems with capturing Video from Camcorder to PC
    By philhyde in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-24-2005, 05:41 PM
  5. Newbie - Capturing video help please!
    By smc in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-13-2004, 11:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •