Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Quality of captured video using Premier Pro

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    13

    Default Quality of captured video using Premier Pro

    Please help. I use a Panasonic GS55 camera. When I play directly from the camera to TV the quality is excellent. I then capture to Premier using the DV/IEEE1394. My problem is that there is a clear loss of quality from the original to the captured video. I finished the project and then wrote to DVD. The quality is still not good enough. Is it the camera (fine when playing to TV), my computer (1gig ram etc. should have zero problems) or the settings in Premier Pro. I use the standard settings.

    Please help!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Could be any number of things...

    Question regarding quality are very common. I suggest you have trawl through the forum at other questions on the same area.

    Of course they're often hard to spot because loads of poeple just put thread titles of "Help" or "Premier Problem".

    There's loads of discussion on quality and reasons for lack of it. Have a read.

    Did you view your final DVD in the PC or in a set-top box?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I view the video on my PC. I havn't checked on a set top yet. Will there be a difference?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    There certainly will. The key word in question is 'Interlacing'.

    The final result is wll be interlaced and designed for a TV screen. viewing an interlaced signal on a PC monitor which does a full scan will not look as good. I fell for this myself. it was only in desperation I decided to look at my result on a TV where all was well and then reading up on the subject I found out the 'why'.

    Someone, in a fairly recent post, gave an excellent link to explain all this.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I played the DVD on TV and the quality is still bad. I then played the original from the DV Casette directly from the camera using SVideo and the quality is excellent. The quality for the original is at least twice as good as the DVD.

    I tried to change some capture settings. Because the video is short (15 min) I increased the Bit Rate to 9.0. The quality is still bad. The quality of the original AVI file is also bad, so it must be the capture process. I have absolutely no idea what is srong!

    Please help!!

    :cry:

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    1) When you say you "changed the capture settings", do you mean you changed the encoding settings?

    2) When you say "bad quality" are you able to qualify this? Is it fuzzy/pixelated/stuttery/washed out/grainy/has horizontal lines etc etc. If you can, post a screen shot.

    3) Have you tried outputting as progressive (de-interlaced) as Millsy suggested? www.100fps.com

    4) The capture process should be lossless. Have you defragmented your harddrive?

Similar Threads

  1. studio 9 problems with he quality of the captured video
    By henrikjt in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-31-2006, 09:50 PM
  2. Striations on Video Captured by Videostudio 8
    By Darth Vader in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-24-2005, 06:04 PM
  3. captured video is 'streaky' when panning
    By googlewhore in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-28-2005, 12:13 PM
  4. Great quality but jerky slom-mo from premier pro dvd export
    By alforno in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-07-2004, 07:11 PM
  5. Putting captured video from Studio into Premier 6
    By PhantomII_ICE in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-03-2004, 01:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •