Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Which Scart lead goes where?

  1. #1

    Default Which Scart lead goes where?

    Hi All! I have a TV with 2 scarts, a DVD with 1 scart, a VCR with 2 scarts and a Freeview Set Top Box. The question is...... which scart lead goes where? I have everything working apart from the VCR..... there is one scart lead from the VCR going nowhere. I get a picture from the VCR, but no colour. The VCR records, but no colour! If anyone can help me, then I would be truly grateful!
    Many thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Gloucester
    Posts
    85

    Default

    LOL OK not really the right forum is it??

    Freeview box to VCR IN,
    VCR OUT to TV,
    DVD OUT to TV 2

    Check the leads if your not getting colour, it may be that the TV needs better/manual tuning.
    Need Pro Computer advice?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GTWCMT View Post
    it may be that the TV needs better/manual tuning.
    To correct the above statement.... If you're using scart, tuning has no effect whatsoever. Tuning implies RF signal which scart isn't.... it's direct signal.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4,192
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    It sounds like the DVD and the VCR might be having compatibility problems. Try switching off the DVD player and see if that makes anything better.

    It won't be a "tuning" problem, it may be a cable problem or two machines trying to use the same connection.
    Scart cables aren't normally "out" OR "in", they usually just connect two bits of kit together, so don't worry if you can't find an "out" or "in" scart socket on your VCR or DVD player. There will probably be sockets marked "TV" and/or "recorder" or something like that.

    Edit: Oh, and welcome Duntowin, this IS the right forum for hardware problems.
    Last edited by Rembrandt Rob; 10-27-2006 at 10:58 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Try all in th input settings on the remote, on my sony telly there is a butoon that clyles through the inputs (scart1, scart2, dvd, svid ect...) nad if it is 'wrong' i get a b/w pic sometimes - just a thought.

Similar Threads

  1. Does a Capture/TV Card with an RGB Scart Input exist??
    By DragonQ in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-31-2005, 12:22 PM
  2. SCART from VHS player to S video for Canopus ADVC100
    By rjamesd in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-23-2005, 09:33 AM
  3. Scart to s video nightmare
    By stevecox1968 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-13-2005, 10:14 PM
  4. DV in lead
    By Albertstan in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-05-2004, 04:53 PM
  5. Advice on lead connections please......
    By Northwestman01 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-14-2004, 11:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •