Thread: External harddrive capturing suggestions/insight wanted

Default External harddrive capturing suggestions/insight wanted

Hi all,

Very very new to Digital Director, so please go easy on me

I know I've put a lot of info here, my goal is to give as clear an idea as possible of what I'm asking...

Sincere thanks in advance for all feedback/suggestions!

I work as an editor's assistant for a small, independent studio that produces approximately 1-2 hours per week of broadcast quality footage.

Our shows are about video games, so all our footage can be broken down into 2 types. A-roll (interviews) that we shoot, and B-Roll (game footage and various other non-interview shots) that either capture ourselves or is provided to us by the games' developers/marketers.

This studio started out very small in the late nineties in the days where having all footage on tape was a necessity... i.e. only capturing footage to hard drives for immediate offlining, editing offline, and then batching tapes for online editing, deleting the offlined files once online was complete, then starting all over again for the next show...

However, as the studio has grown, and more shows have been added, etc. and since hard drive storage solutions have now reached a price point that is very reasonable, I am in the process of pitching the idea that ALL footage arriving into our studio goes directly to a hard drive right away (offline quality), and stays there for (virtually) forever, to be grabbed at any time for offlining for any show at any time.

This is a big shift in paradigm/procedure for the studio, but I've already run this idea (in THEORY/broad terms) past the creator/owner of the studio, and he feels it is a smart and obvious change.

There are many many advantages to this system, efficiency (in the business world = saving $$$) being the big one.