Thread: upgrading to digital

Smile upgrading to digital

another newbie here...our old sony hi-8..our second..is now getting too old and unwieldy for my wife so we are going to get a new digital camcorder
    i see there are ones with hard drives built in and without
    i anticipate we may film more than 7-9 hours on a 14 day trip to nepal so i am thinking the hard drive model may not be suitable..
    we need to start somewhere on the market and fixed around 400 for a cam
    we need a look through viewfinder not just a screen

later i will need to query editing software as we only have an edit deck for VHS

my external hard drive is 80GB and a spare on on the pc is 40GB...

hopefully without asking too much too soon i will learn quicker

cheers

mrcrow
    manchester

Blog Entries

Whatever you get make sure os is a DV camera, records onto little tapes. Avoid hd and disc models - lower quality, fiddly to edit.

As for your pc, the faster the better, and you may need bigger drives. It wont need to be super fast, anything around / above a 2 gig pentium should be fine, and befor anyone starts howling, I spent 2 years editing on an xp1700 and it was just fine and dandy.

3. Default

If you want to edit there is no other choice but mini-dv as said right abouv me.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark W View Post
    Whatever you get make sure os is a DV camera, records onto little tapes. Avoid hd and disc models - lower quality, fiddly to edit.

As for your pc, the faster the better, and you may need bigger drives. It wont need to be super fast, anything around / above a 2 gig pentium should be fine, and befor anyone starts howling, I spent 2 years editing on an xp1700 and it was just fine and dandy.
    cheers..thats one step at a time good information...DV...got it