Thread: Can it be done?

Default Can it be done?

I'm a newbie and appreciate any help.

Using Premier Elements 2.0

Video from camcorder was not time encoded, so the whole video is one clip.

I can use razor or "split clip", remove unwanted footage, rearrange clips, etc. I can rename each segment. But I can't save them as separate clips in media window or to disk.

The footage includes various unrelated subjects. How can I save scenes from this project for use in other projects, as "freestanding" clips, so to speak?

Scene splitting is really part of your capture workflow.

if this is really important to you then it might actually be worth your time recpaturing the tape with scene detection on so you capoture each scene to a different AVI file. Or do the scene detection manually as you gop through the tape.

I'm assuming Elements does has auto scene detection in the capture s/w.

Or, if that's too much trouble you could try the following (and this is completely untested btw). Also, I'm assuming the following functionality is available in Elements like it is in Pro...

Create a new project and import your one big clip. Open the clip in the source window and set your in and out points. Rename the clip to the scene it now is. Cut and past the scene/clip in the bin to duplicate it. Open it in the source window and change the in and out points. Rename. repeats till you have a project with all of your 'scenes' in it. Save project.

Now, any time you want to yuse those scenes in another project you can just (?) import that project into the one you wish to work on and you should have all your scenes available to add to timelines/sequences.

The amount of work involved here though (if the number opf clips is large) would be as much if not more than recapturing the tape. Also, if you recaptyure the tape into individual scenes you will have many smaller files whcih would be easier to back up on writeable media.

HTH

Alan

Thanks for the suggestions, Alan!