Thread: converting a DVD to an .avi file

Default converting a DVD to an .avi file

Hello,
    I am new to this forum and I am trying to determine what is the lowest version of Sony Vegas or any video editing software I need to buy in order to take video off a DVD and convert it to an AVI or an Quicktime file.

I am a film composer and am now receiving everything on DVD instead of VHS tape. My system is a Pentium 4 PC.

Thank you all for your help.

JL

You could buy some DVD ripping hardware (google...convert DVD to AVI) and you'll find loads then edit the AVI in Windows Movie Maker which is free with XP.

Video Edit software wont help you in taking the material off of a DVD. However as a composer it may help you in your composing but i am sure you already have the software to do this.

You can do what you nned to do in two ways.

1) DVD Ripping. Dimilar to CD ripping but obviously a little more compliated. There are hundreds of diffrent DVD ripping applications out there. Some more extensive than others. The high end ones I think for your purposes would be a bit of a waste on you as I assume all you need is a reference to compose to so some of them are very easy to use. Look for Smart Ripper. I can offer other suggestions if need be.

2) DVD Capture/Digitizing. This is the hardware route and can be done cheaply also. You could simply go buy yourself a TV camture card. You should be able to plug a DVD player into this and record it like you were recording TV. There are high end professional DVD capture devices out there but again you probably dont need them but if you do i can make suggestions.

Hope this helps
    Last edited by irishmark; 10-17-2006 at 03:01 AM. Reason: I spell like a melon sometimes

Quote Originally Posted by irishmark View Post
    Viedo Edot software wont help you in taking thematerial off of a DVD.