Thread: Advice needed on shooting own how-to video

Default Advice needed on shooting own how-to video

Hi there,

I want to film some how-to art videos and want to try do it myself.
    As I am a graphic artist - I use Adobe products (photoshop, illustrator, indesign) all the time. So naturally I'm considering Adobe Premiere for video editing.

Can anyone help me with what exactly I will need - rent a video recorder (what I should be looking for ?), lighting (what kind of lighting would be best - my husband will be filming my hand drawing on white paper - so I need good lighting so as not to create a glare or a complete white-out of the white paper).

And then I will muddle my way thru editing it in Premiere.

I'm not looking for any thing hollywood-style fancy - just a straight forward instructional video with good clear sound (of my voice) and good quality, clear, close-up video of what I am drawing.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much !

Bracknell, Berkshire, UK

Firstly, welcome!

I think that for what you are trying to do you could get away with spending only a little money for equipment. Needless to say, you could go the whole hog and spend thousands sorting out the best cameras, microphones and lighting etc but for now that would be too much I suspect.

I would suggest starting out as follows, doing things as cheaply as possible at first to avoid spending any serious money before you know what wporkls and what doesn't.

I would like to emphasise first though, that I've not doen what you're doing here and so I'm simply "thinking out loud" here rather than talking from any real experience of your situation.