Thread: Unsupported Camcoder

1. Default Unsupported Camcoder

Hello fellows..

I'm about to capture from my sony DCR-HC21E on Premiere Pro 2.0, but when i check click device info online, my device is not even listed. I had problems with pro 1.5 of getting 'Unknown Record Error' every few minutes while capturing, was this the problem perhaps? I think the other problem was NTSC being selected hence my country is PAL. I'm pretty new in editing and would like these few things to be clarified..

Western Europe

How have you the camcorder connected up to the computer? It should only be connected with a Firewire cable and nothing else. I don't think you'll find that specific camcorder listed, there may just be a 'Sony' camcorder or try 'Generic' but you will need to start and stop the camcorder manually.

Hi Songz

I am almost certain that having NTSC selected instead of PAL would have caused the problems. My particular Canon camera isn't listed amongst the cameras in Premiere either, but Premiere is still able to device control it without any problem. In your case, just choose Sony as the device brand, and leave the device type as 'standard'.

You could forget using Premiere to capture, and use WinDV instead. It will also device control your Sony with ease. I've already harped on about this program enough in these forums, so I'll spare you all a repeat sermon. Just search the posts for WinDV if you are interested.

Hope this helps.

4. Default

I've changed from NTSC to PAL, configured the settings to Sony and General, changed PC's, but still getting the 'Unknown Record Error'. Bert i was planning to use an alternative capturing software & am stongly looking for one which will produce best quality 'avi' files as premiere does or even better. If WinDV does then my problem is solved otherwise please advice on any other. I still want to use premiere for editing though..

5. Default