Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Video distorting

  1. Default Video distorting

    Hi... I'm new in this forum and look forward in learning a lot. I'm also new in Adobe Premiere (have Pro 1.5).. I'm busy following some tutorials please if you have any great links for begginers do assist. I have these initial problems, i have so far added some few wmv clips into my project and trimmed them into the timeline.. When i press play on the monitor to see the preview of the combined trimmed clips, the video sometimes hangs/starters on the monitor view specifically when it reaches between the clips (where the transitions are to be placed).. My worry is, would it come out like that on the DVD? Secondly, when i add the video transitions between these clips on the timneline, i can't seem to select them so that i may edit them.. Is this common.. Sorry for my long questions hope are clear..

    songz

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    659

    Default

    Premiere is primarily a DV editor so anything else on the timeline like WMV and transitions needs to be rendered to get smooth playback. The jittery playback shouldn't appear on the final video.

    To edit the transitions zoom into the timeline until they are big enough to edit, if you click on them their properties will open in the effects panel where you will be offered all the choices for that particular transition.
    Canon, Edius, Final Cut Studio, Always Progressive, Promotional Video Production

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    What spec is your computer setup and when did you last defragment your harddrive? If it has been a while run the utility to see if you need to do it now. The video file formats that Adobe Premiere Pro 2 accepts are ASF, AVI Type 2, MPEG, MPE, M2V, Quicktime (MOV - requires Quicktime on your computer), DCX?, Windows Media File (WMV), Animated GIF and FilmStrip (FLM). So WMV is covered well at least in APP2, check to see if it is the same in APP1.5, but it does go on to say that file format support is provided by plug-in software modules. Most of these software modules are installed automatically with APP. It says 'most of them' but that doesn't guarantee all of them are installed.

  4. Default

    Thanx a lot Nikosony & miwhel... Will try zooming... Well, working with wmv was just doing a test.. I'm going to be capturing from my camcoder which i noticed by default are .avi clips.. I'm only concerned about the quality of the video hence avi's are compressed files. Using windows movie maker capturing program gave 99.9% quality... Should i be worried?

    Thanx a lot, getting excited about your helps guys..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    659

    Default

    Capturing AVI from camcorders is what ppro is best at. The captured vids are compressed using the DV-AVI codec giving you high quality 25mbps easy to edit video. By default Win MM will capture using wmv unless you tell it to use DV-AVI the same as ppro.

    The quality of the video is reliant on the quality of the footage captured by the Camcorder, so learning the best settings for your cam in different situations will give you better video to work with.
    Canon, Edius, Final Cut Studio, Always Progressive, Promotional Video Production

  6. Default

    Thanx.. God bless...

  7. Default Re: Video Distorting

    Don't seem to come right here... While i'm awaiting a reply from the other post titled 'Unknown record error', i've managed to capture coupler avi's to my project. I've dragged one avi to the timeline and hit the play button on monitor's right window. The distorting has gone terrible now together with the audio. I've tried openning the files outside Premiere using winamp player, same results. The quality thought looks very promising but can't judge because it keeps distorting. Is it my video settings or the PC memory/space? I have quite a few space left on my C drive (less than a Gig but the PC's not slow), but i'm capturing these videos to my external USB device/hard drive which has plenty of space...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Stop capturing to that external hard disk. You should only capture to your internal hard disk and how come you only have 1Gb left on it? You need to take some files off it and store them on the external drive, copy any other files, photos, word doc's etc that you don't need to access on a regular basis, games and uninstall applications (gimmicky or otherwise) from your internal drive. Then use Windows Disk Cleanup utility to remove old files you've deleted over the past six months, and when this is done, run the disk defragment utility to make your internal HDD work at it's best. Would you give a full list of your computers spec... memory, processor (speed and make), bus speed and how big the internal HDD was originally.

  9. Default

    I'm using a dell D505 notebook. 1.6GHz, 1G ram, 40G HD, Pentium M. I have 3.3gb free.. I noticed capturing DV-AVI takes a lot of space. on WMM 10min took 2.2gb already. I have 80min to go still. My external has 40gigs free.. Is this a call to purchase a new External HD of 200GB but still you saying i must not use external drive.. wha'ts the solution here?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    659

    Default

    Notebooks are not built for this kind of thing, the hdd are slow and small, they are fine as a temp measure or to use on location but video editing is a specialised area of computing.

    Do you have a desktop PC? A desktop can be easily and quite cheaply upgraded but a laptop has very limited upgrade options.

    It seems you have a lot of files on your machine already are these important? could you put them on the external Hdd and save the internal hdd for video, as already sugested by Nikosony.

    Maybe upgrade the Hdd in the notebook and add somemore ram.

    another thing to remember is that if you are using premiere it will want to create cache files of your video and audio, so in theory you could end up using twice the amount of space or more in your project.

    The distorting you are seeing is probably interlace lines. The video will playback fine on a TV as TV is interlaced, but the PC just plays what it sees and does not deal with interlacing. Also it is possible that the graphics adapter in the notebook is struggling if it is built on the motherboard rather than a dedicated video card.
    Canon, Edius, Final Cut Studio, Always Progressive, Promotional Video Production

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Sound distorting
    By noglea in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-16-2005, 11:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •