Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Import Stills - Stop resizing!?!

  1. #1

    Default Import Stills - Stop resizing!?!


    I'm trying to use a bigger picture than my workarea - effectivily creating a moving background that's 5 times longer than the width of my workarea - but upon importing vegas resizes it to the width of my workarea - how can I disable this?

    -- TS

  2. #2


    Not quite sure what you are gettin at.

    More infomation please...
    is this by any chance a panaramic image??


  3. #3


    Enter Pan/Crop, the icon at the right hand end of the Event, and adjust the "F"rame to that which you wish to be seen.

    There are some default templates: 4:3 and 16:9 : or, as I say adjust the "F"rame.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Esher, Surrey.


    Grazie? THE "Grazie"? Junior member?. Welcome!.

  5. #5


    Quote Originally Posted by Grazie View Post
    Enter Pan/Crop, the icon at the right hand end of the Event, and adjust the "F"rame to that which you wish to be seen.

    There are some default templates: 4:3 and 16:9 : or, as I say adjust the "F"rame.
    Are you the "Grazie" from the sony forums?

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

  6. #6


    Guilty as Charged!

    Anyway, to answer the question I have prepared some examples .. nice to see an EASY upload option here!

    Thanks for the WELCOME . . thank you!

    I prepared a w - i - d - e squiggly thingie in Paint Shop Pro and . . .

    All in V7

    Pic 1: Previewed. And there you can SEE the black bars above and below the graphic. I'm presuming that is what is meant by Vegas Resizing. Well If your project is "SET" to 4:3 as per my project then this is exactly what you will get AND what Vegas does - you told it too!

    . . oh, if this is NOT what you mean ignore the rest of this . .

    Pic 2: This show same in Pan/Crop, ready to have an area "used" to fit the Preview. Point being here is IF a still of any media doesn't fit - here 4:3 - then something HAS to give, either the Height or the Width OR sometimes both - yeah?

    Pic 3: Maybe you can see the detail? But what I'm showing here is that I have adjusted the "F"rame to correspond with 4:3. This ALSO means I loose much of the picture, well yes it would!

    Pic 4: And here you see the finished article WITHIN Preview. And yes, of course, you ARE seeing a magnified/zoomed-in portion of the Squiggle - well you would, wouldn't you? Fitting a Gallon into a Pint pot means that something has to be lost - setting up your Vegas project, directed by your video material - normally 4:3 or 16:9 - our Preview would be one of these 2 aspect formats.

    Bottom line here is that if we do not want to re-size/re-crop/pan THEN you/I/we need to preset our stills to what ever we are preparing in Vegas - be it 4:3 or 16:9 or widescreen. Matching the aspect ration of stills that AREN'T in one of the aspect formats we use will mean that edges will be trimmed. Of course Vegas will "always" auto match - you asked it to fit everything within the ratio you set the project in. It is not a fault of Vegas, it is what is does best.

    I hope this helps? Or maybe I've completely missed the plot here? Not the first time .. Lol!!

    Best regards,

    Attached Images Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. resizing avi
    By ohmygod in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-21-2006, 05:50 PM
  2. Resizing Screen Size
    By woolhouse in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-06-2006, 07:49 PM
  3. Resizing a project - Vegas 5
    By willisa in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-09-2005, 12:47 PM
  4. Screen capture resizing
    By bulj in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-17-2005, 11:33 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts