Thread: Intermediate capture/edting purchase...

Default Intermediate capture/edting purchase...

I'm a relative beginner to editing, though exper at Win MM; and wish to make a wise capture/editing purchase. Would you comment on my considerations?
    I wish to capture analog/VHS & S-VHS/DVD/DV/WMV and other formats initially, with future editing capabilities for HDV if possible. Budget from $300- 700 or so initially. With fireware card addition, I am most inclined to Canopus ADVC 110 or Datavision 200 boxes(read review-comparison, 200 deemed superior image quality), wonder what you feel about the cost/benefits of Canopus 300, and am curious whether you feel that the Canopus AceDVio card would offer any advantages over firewire Convertors (Edius info states realtime editing funtions with card-?).

Most of my source will be HQ S-VHS (JVC HR-S9800 w/s-vid). Will the 300 offer appreciable benefits with my S-VHS w/TBC- material? What do you think offers the best solution? Conversion to MPEG-2 as well as DV would be great for analog unedited archival.