Thread: Advice needed by newbie...

Default Advice needed by newbie...

Hi everybody

I just found this forum and registered. I have very little knowledge and hope that someone will be kind enough to help me.

I have a wireless video camera (ccd) and receiver (Swann) and a small LCD TV. I can connect the the wireless camera receiver to the mini TV and view video images from the CCD camera. I want to use this to put the small camera in one of my model aeroplanes and see movies of the flight. Easy so far... but I want to record the movies.

What I would like to be able to do is to record from the video receiver onto my JVC camcorder. My camcorder manual shows how to record from another video device through the digital video (DV)sockets. My video receiver only has a red and a yellow phono output - I believe they are called RCA connectors.

Is there a way that I can convert the red and yellow outputs from my receiver into the camcorder? The manual shows that the camcorder can feed video to a TV / whatever from the AV output (looks like a little jack socket) to the RCA adapter behind the TV.

In short, what I am asking is - is the AV socket on my camcorder a 2 way link and could I use it to input AV signals and record them onto digital tape?

Any advice will be most welcome, thanks.

Jack

Blog Entries

You need a camcorder with AV in. DV in is for recording from a computer.

Some camcorders, about 20% maybe, have av in, it should say in the manual.

I hope you get it sorted as it sounds very interesting and I for one would love to see the results.

Blog Entries

The "norm" for cinc (or RCA) cable is red = left audio channel, white for right audio (although this is far from gospel and sometimes is the other way 'round) and yellow for video. So the yellow socket should be analogue video.

If your camcorder has a yellow socket marked as "video in" then it should work.