Thread: Ugrently need advice....please

Default Ugrently need advice....please

Hi people,

I am a newbie to premiere pro and digital video; If I explain my dilema perhaps someone would be kind enough to offer me some advice.

I have shot a sports event of approx 8 hours onto 2 full size DV tapes, this event comprised of about 20 individual competitions. I need to capture into PPro2 each competition and archive each competition to a master DVD so that I end up with a set of master DVD's with each competition being a seperate file so that I can then create compilations of various competitions for people. My dilema is that if I try and do this as an avi file some of the competitions are much larger than others and result in a avi file of over 8GB hence they are too big to archive to a DVD. I need to create this DVD master set of competitions to clear the tapes which will soon be needed again.

What is the usual way to go about this, what format should I be archiving in if not avi, how does everyone else create master backups of their tapes.

One bit of advice I had was to buy more tape and use the tapes as my master, however this is not viable as I have 20 events a year to cover, each event is 3 days and each day uses 2 x 270min tapes... meaning I would need 120 tapes minimum to archive 12months and at a cost of 30-40 per tape this really is not an option.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Kev

2. Default

Don't forget one important point. Your time is worth money. Fooling around with this for too long will steal your time and sanity away. I know, I've been there.
    I would look on-line for good deals on hard drives. I just bought a 400 gig for around $125.00 US money. I think it's the only way to go.

Or get a dual layer DVD burner ($80. us) and burn to dual layer DVD which holds abut 8 gig, might just work out.

Thanks Eddie,

Sanity has already gone I think...