Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: viewmaster

Default viewmaster

I'm working on a film in which several people are playing with a viewmaster (the orange toy that's used to view images). I want to be able to take some stills and make it look as though we are seeing inside the viewmaster and I want to do this within after effects. I have a viewmaster in front of me right now for reference and I can see how the images come in and out, and I know how to do the basics of animating things in after effects, but what I really want is some advice on how to make this look realistic. For example, when I look at the real viewmaster, it works by taking in light, so the images all look lit up from behind...how can I do that? What else should I know before I try doing this?

I remember that toy aswell, I can't remember though whether it was called Viewmaster on this side of the Atlantic but you'll need to create some kind of mask in Photoshop to resemble the view you see when you look through the viewer. Did the images swing in from the left or right? That would involve using an anchor point and keyframing a rotation from 90 degrees vertical to 0 degrees horizontal. Wasn't the image slightly blurred aswell or maybe the colours were slightly off aswell? As far as lighting it from the images from behind, you could put a white image on a layer below the images and use blend modes to see what effects are achieved.

Thanks, I'll try some of the stuff you recommended. I think I can figure out the animation of how the images come on and off, it was really the lighting of the images that I had no clue how to do. They are very lit from behind.

Are they slightly blurred? well the one I'm playing with now has pretty clear images, but I think it's safe to say that some of the pictures I'm going to be using are somewhat blurred already, so whether or not the real view-master has blurred image, mine certainly will.