Thread: MiniDV vs. DVD - Some Advice Please

Default MiniDV vs. DVD - Some Advice Please

Hi - I'm a newbe to the purchase of a video camcorder. I want to use it for personal use, but also to record events for clients for broadcast on the web. I am looking to get either a high-end consumer camcorder like the Sony DCR-DVD50, or light-duty professional camcorder like the Panasonic AG-DVC7 (minidv).

Could anyone offer any advice regarding this range of camera, and in particular the benefits of recording to minidv tape vs. recording to a dvd?

Can anyone tell me how long it takes to copy a minidv via firewire to a PC for editing and what file format does the minidv use? Does this require a capture process, as opposed to a copy process?

As you can tell, I'm just beginning to understand this stuff. Be kind

TIA
    --Kevin

Blog Entries

The main difference between dvd cameras and dv cameras is the bit rate and ease of editing the files produced.

DVD is 6 (about) Mbit/sec , dv is 25 Mbit / sec. More bits means a better picture.

DV files, .avi files , are editable on many more packages than DVD files, .mpg.

Capturing from dv involves playing the video in to the computer through a f wire port, DVD involes copying the files from the disc. In practice both are straightforward and involve no loss.

Unless you want the facility to go straight from cam to dvd player I would advise the dv camera, every time.

Mark W - thanks for such a thoughtful reply. You've answered my questions well. As I am planning on importing and editing my videos together, I am now on the hunt for a DV camera and will leave the DVD cameras in the dust.

Again - thanks!
    --Kevin

One more question along these same lines... When copying a full 60 or 80 minute DV tape to a computer in AVI format - how long does this process take? Do you have a play the tape back at regular speed, or is there a faster way to transfer the data from the camera to the PC?

TIA
    --Kevin

Blog Entries