Thread: Premiere Pro 7 Help Plz

Exclamation Premiere Pro 7 Help Plz

Hi guys im new to this forum...hope this post has been stuck on the right page if not i apologise...i have 1 issue i need urgent help on... im a keen editor and im learning adobe premiere pro but have come across a few probs some ive sorted out..but this the main issue bugging me...

1) whilst editing in premiere pro and adding effects or colour correcting the playback on the montiors is very sluggish/slow its really annoying and at times doesnt play at all....i'm not sure if its my comps specs or if im lacking in a department...if i need to invest...what would i require or if its just a simple case in adjusting settings...please provide full details.....

many thanks in advance

my computer specs:

Pentium [R] 4 CPU 2.80GHz 1.00GB RAM WINDOWS XP PROFESSIONAL PACK 2
    80GB HARD DRIVE + 250GB EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE, PCI FIRECARD/WIRE
    Last edited by sol2dude; 09-01-2006 at 05:13 PM.

First thing that springs to mind is: are your clips on the external drive? Adobe doesn't support this. You can check this forum's FAQ on:

http://www.videoforums.co.uk/guide-v...rddrive-15.htm

i captured the footage onto my internal drive which holds 80gbs...due to having large amounts of footage to capture i then transferred the footage onto my external hard drive from where i am working on...but it all works fine when no effects or color correction effects added, i can cut clips add a cross dissolve and its fine its only when the above effects added does premiere start acting sluggish n slow, the quality drops overall when i view it on the monitor...

A part of the movie is captured onto my internal drive about an hours worth and premiere still acts up when i add colour correction effects...

can it be my external drive, or do i require more ram or do i need to invest in a matrox card (which i cant really afford)

thanks
    Last edited by sol2dude; 09-01-2006 at 08:24 PM.