Thread: Im new to this

Default Im new to this

Hey,

I would like to know how to set up a video editing system.

I have a pc with the following specs:
    1.2gig
    512mb ram
    32 matrox card - no VIVO
    onboard sound.

I have a vhs tape that i would like to video edit.... how can i get the vhs movie on to pc, edit and then put it back on a new vhs?

Also, i would like to have a system where i could also put movies on to DVD. All the recordings are made on vhs so is there a way of transferring a vhs (analog to pc)....?

i think you will need:
    a bigger hard disc: DV video takes up 1 gig every 5 minutes
    a firewire card (i think)
    do you have a video camera? if so, does it have firewire(i.link/IEEE 1394) and analogue in/out?
    if not, then i'm not the person to ask.
    I've heard of analogue/digital convertors, but thats all i know.
    hope this helps

Blog Entries

As ever, it depends very much on your budget. At the moment, you'll be up and running with basic video editing with the addition of a firewire card (assuming you have a DV camera) and cheap editing software such as Pure Motion Edit Studio.

Without a VIVO graphics, you'll need to purchase some additional hardware to input your analogue VHS signal. With your setup, it would probably be best to go for a dedicated analogue to digital converter. Again it depends on your budget, but lower end products are ADVC50 (or 55 - see http://www.planetdv.net/Content/Digi...Converters.asp for a complete range) and the offerings from Dazzle http://www.pinnaclesys.com/VideoEdit...24&Langue_ID=2 (amongst others). Note the minimum specs on the products - and that you're quality will only ever be at best as good as source!!!

To burn to DVD, you'll need a DVD burner with the appropriate software

Well, i dont think the camcorder is digital, it is my fathers camcorder... and he is a professional photographer and also a professional video filmer.