Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pinnacle 10 text overlay

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Pinnacle 10 text overlay

    Hey guys, Im new to video editing and I heard and read that pinnacle is a good program, moreso for professional editing, but I think I've done everything possible with windows movie maker, so I upgraded.

    My issue is that I'm trying to put transparent text in my video so that its all black with the exception of transparent text which I want my video to show through. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Just choose OVERLAY TITLE in the Title Editor window, instead of FULL-SCREEN TITLE.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default re:

    nah, ive tried that. all that does is overlay the title with the video. i want no video coming through except through the transparent letters.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    I don't get it. It's either overlay or full-screen, which of the two do you want?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Re:

    If you do overlay title, it does just that. It overlays the title so you see the title over the video. Full screen just gives a screen with a title. I WANT to be able to have a transparent title with video showing ONLY through the letters. The letters will be completely surrounded in black, but video will show THROUGH the letters.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Stupid me. Now I know what you want. The bad news is you can't do it in the standard version of Studio. You need an editor that can work with at least two video tracks. You can upgrade to Studio Plus, or find another multitrack editor. Once you find that program, create a still image containing the text you want, 2-colors only (one for the background and one for the text), make the text color transparent and save everything as GIF or PNG (to mantain transparency). Or you can make that color transparent directly in the video editor. So place your video on the first video track and the still on the secondary track, adjusting its duration as necessary. And that's it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    791

    Default

    Damn shame it's Pinnacle Studio. I know exactly how to do this in Liquid using its Trackmatte feature.
    Lloyd

    That's my opinion. If you don't like it I have others

    System: Apple Macbook Pro 17, and an external Freecom 500GB eSATA drive.
    Software: Final Cut Studio 2 (FCP 6, Motion 3, Soundtrack Pro 2, Color, DVD Studio Pro 4, Compressor 3), Sonicfire Pro 4.5
    Favourite Resources: Findsounds.com, Free DVD menus, Ken Stone's FCP Page, Wikivid

Similar Threads

  1. How to overlay multiple clips?
    By GrandMasterKaja in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-18-2008, 04:19 AM
  2. Text/Text Animation Flashes/ Layers. HELP!
    By danny123 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-17-2007, 02:46 AM
  3. Overlay help
    By koootzz in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-23-2006, 12:36 AM
  4. Adding Text Overlay for Pinnacle 9???
    By jawinn in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-27-2006, 01:54 PM
  5. Graphic overlay
    By Shifty in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-14-2005, 05:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •